USQ staff scoop ACEL awards

01 November 2012
Award winner Dorothy Andrews with Emeritus Professor Frank Crowther (left) and Dr Jim Watterson
Two University of Southern Queensland staff members of the Faculty of Education have been recognised for their contributions to the world of education leadership at the recent Australian Council for Educational Leaders (ACEL) conference.

Associate Professor Dorothy Andrews received the Nganakarrawa Award at an awards ceremony last month, an annual award presented for general excellence in educational administration and to those who have earned lasting respect and gratitude from the ACEL for their learning, experience and contributions.

The term “Nganakarrawa” has origins in the Ndjebbana language in the Northern Territory and means “those who move about, all seeing, all knowing, knowledgeable and well-regarded.”

Lecturer in School Pedagogies and Online Pedagogies Dr Joan Conway received an ACEL Fellowship, which is a special category of membership awarded annual to members who have made an outstanding contribution over a period of time to the improvement of student and organisational outcomes.

Professor Andrews said she was honoured to receive the award.

‘It’s quite a prestigious award to receive so it was a bit of a shock when my name was announced,’ she said.

‘It’s one of the top awards presented by the ACEL so it’s quite an honour.

‘I’ve been a member of the ACEL for about 20 years.’

Dr Conway said ACEL Fellowships were granted to members who fulfil the criteria of being a model leader and inspiring others.

‘It’s an honour to receive a fellowship and as it’s a nationally recognised award, also quite humbling,’ Dr Conway said.

‘Education leadership is imperative for our future and it is important to create a culture of open-mindedness, trust and collaboration for the enhancement of student outcomes.’

For more information about the ACEL, visit

Media contact: 

Jim Campbell,, 07 4631 2977

Tell a friend!