Membership

Education Committee



Responsible officer	University Secretary	Approval Authority	Academic Board

Membership

4.1.1. PROVOST (CHAIR)	Ex officio
Professor Karen Nelson	
4.1.2. ONE ELECTED STAFF MEMBER OF ACADEMIC BOARD DRAWN FROM CATEGORY 4.1.14 BELOW, APPOINTED BY THE CHAIR, ACADEMIC BOARD, FOLLOWING AN EXPRESSION OF INTEREST PROCESS (DEPUTY CHAIR)	Term of Office: Three years, up to but not including the regular meeting of the Academic Board in July.
Professor Alexander Kist	
4.1.3. DEAN (ACADEMIC)	Ex officio
Professor Geoff Slaughter	
4.1.4. ASSOCIATE DEAN (LEARNING AND TEACHING)	Ex officio
Associate Professor Tanya Machin	
4.1.5 DEAN (GRADUATE RESEARCH SCHOOL)	Ex officio
Professor Charlotte Brownlow	
4.1.6 PRO VICE-CHANCELLOR (FIRST NATIONS EDUCATION AND RESEARCH) OR NOMINEE	Ex officio
Professor Odette Best	
4.1.7. DEAN (ACADEMIC TRANSFORMATION)	Ex officio
Professor Lyn Alderman	
4.1.8. HEAD (UNISQ COLLEGE) AND DEAN (PATHWAYS EDUCATION)	Ex officio
Professor Ian Wells	
4.1.9. ACADEMIC REGISTRAR	Ex officio
Mr Mark Erickson	
4.1.10 UNIVERSITY LIBRARIAN AND DIRECTOR (LIBRARY SERVICES)	Ex officio
Carmel O'Sullivan	
4.1.11 DEAN (LEARNING AND TEACHING FUTURES)	Ex officio
Professor Jo-Anne Ferreira	

4.1.12 ASSOCIATE DIRECTOR (ACADEMIC PROGRAM SUPPORT SERVICES)	Ex officio
Meg Ting	
4.1.13 CHAIR, LEARNING AND TEACHING INNOVATION COMMITTEE	Ex officio
Dr Naomi Ryan	
4.1.14 FOUR MEMBERS OF ACADEMIC BOARD FROM ACADEMIC BOARD'S ELECTED STAFF MEMBERSHIP CATEGORIES, ELECTED BY AND FROM THE MEMBERS OF ACADEMIC BOARD	Term of Office: Three years, up to but not including the regular meeting of the Academic Board in July.
Dr Naomi Ryan	
Professor Alexander Kist	
Associate Professor Eric Ng	
Associate Professor Gavin Beccaria	
Shane Simmons	
4.1.15. FOUR ACADEMIC STAFF MEMBERS, ELECTED BY AND FROM THE ACADEMIC STAFF OF THE UNIVERSITY	Term of Office: Three years, up to but not including the regular
Vacant	meeting of the Academic Board in July.
Vacant	
Vacant	
Vacant	
4.1.16. ONE FIRST NATIONS ACADEMIC STAFF MEMBER, ELECTED BY AND FROM THE FIRST NATIONS ACADEMIC STAFF OF THE UNIVERSITY	Term of Office: Three years, up to but not including the regular meeting of the Academic Board
Geoff Keating	in July.
4.1.17. TWO UNDERGRADUATE STUDENTS, ELECTED BY AND FROM THE STUDENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY	Term of Office: One year, up to and including 31 March, with annual opportunity to continue
Peter Giess	membership to a maximum term
Jazmynn Tozer	of three years.
4.1.18. ONE ELECTED POSTGRADUATE COURSEWORK STUDENT, ELECTED BY AND FROM THE STUDENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY Vacant	Term of Office: One year, up to and including 31 March, with annual opportunity to continue membership to a maximum term of three years.
SECRETARY (EDUCATION COMMITTEE)	
Governance Officer (Academic Board) - Emma Phillips	



Modification History

Date	Source	Details	
21/09/2021	AB	Establishment of Education Committee approved by Academic Board.	
16/11/2021	AB	Addition of membership position 4.1.14 One elected Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander academic staff member, elected by and from the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander academic staff of the University, as approved by Academic Board.	
22/02/2022	AB	Update to membership due to changes in senior leadership roles in the University as approved by Academic Board.	
16/05/2022	EC	Addition of co-opted membership – Director (Student and Academic Support), until appointment of Academic Registrar who will then be co-opted to the Committee.	
15/08/2022		Update to membership to reflect ADOSP – Deputy Chair.	
15/08/2022		Update to membership due to AB membership changes (Early Retirement Scheme) 4.1.11.	
15/08/2022		Update to membership to reflect resignation of student representatives.	
01/09/2022		Update to reflect election of new student representative.	
28/11/2022		Administrative update 4.1.3 and 4.1.4 to reflect realignment of Academic Affairs portfolio.	
	EC	Updated to membership to add member – Mark Erickson	
22/06/2023	EC	Updated to membership to add co-opted member – Carmel O'Sullivan	
12/7/2023		Update to reflect election of 4.1.13. ONE ELECTED ABORIGINAL AND/OR TORRES STRAIT ISLANDER ACADEMIC STAFF MEMBER, ELECTED BY AND FROM THE ABORIGINAL AND TORRES STRAIT ISLANDER ACADEMIC STAFF OF THE UNIVERSITY – Geoff Keating	
19/09/2023		Updated to reflect changes endorsed by Education Committee 17/08/2023 and approved by Academic Board 19/09/2023	
		 University Librarian and Director (Library Services) as ex officio member rather than co-opted member Replace PVC (First Nations Education and Research) with Head (College for First Nations) (ex officio) Add Dean (Learning and Teaching Futures) (ex officio) Remove Chair, Academic Quality Policy Review and Implementation subcommittee 	
14/11/2023		Updated to replace the Associate Dean (Graduate Research School) with the Dean (GRS) ex officio position due to Research Services Re-alignment.	
21/2/2024	AB	Updated to align with ToR approved at Academic Board 21/2/2024.	

