Skip to main content

The Bruce Dawe National Poetry Prize

Congratulations to our 2018 winner, Natalie D-Napoleon.

Thank you to everyone who entered the 2018 Prize. We had over 1000 poems submitted this year demonstrating the continued enthusiasm for poetry in Australia. Please join us in congratulating Natalie for her poem First Blood: A Sestina and the highly commended entrants Shona Hawkes, Anne Kellas and Louise Wakeling

As an Australian poet, your contribution shapes our Australian culture. None believed this more so than Emeritus Professor Bruce Dawe AO, one of Australia’s most acclaimed contemporary poets. Professor Dawe believed that universities should support the study of Literature and promote the Arts in Australian society. His decision to sponsor this prominent Literary Prize is ongoing, living proof of his conviction. This annual $2500 prize has been generously endowed by Emeritus Professor Dawe to celebrate Australian poetry.

Want to know more?

For more information, please contact