Skip to main content

The 2017 Bruce Dawe National Poetry Prize  has now closed.

As an Australian poet, your contribution shapes our Australian culture. Thank you to everyone for entering in 2017! The winner will be announced on Friday 21 July 2017 at the USQ Alumni Network's Bookcase event

2016 Bruce Dawe National Poetry Prize Winner, Jenny Pollak.

None believed this more so than Emeritus Professor Bruce Dawe AO, one of Australia’s most acclaimed contemporary poets. Professor Dawe believed that universities should support the study of Literature and promote the Arts in Australian society. His decision to sponsor this prominent Literary Prize is ongoing, living proof of his conviction.

This annual $2500 prize has been generously endowed by Emeritus Professor Dawe to celebrate Australian poetry.

Interested? Make sure you find out how to enter before submitting.

Want to know more?

For more information, please contact