Courtroom battle in Moot Secondary School semi finals

Fairholme College and Toowoomba State High School have cemented a place in the 2018 USQ Secondary Schools Moot Competition grand final.
9 Aug 2018

The Fairholme team of Sienna Davis, Lilli Anderson and Alissa Wood defeated Hillbrook Anglican College on Monday night and the Toowoomba State High School side including Kody Buchan, Kaitlyn Cairns and Jemilla Strode Smith outpitched Toowoomba Grammar School.

The teams will meet in the grand final at the Toowoomba Court House on August 23 judged by Justice Robert Gotterson AO (Queensland Court of Appeal), Judge Alexander Horneman-Wren SC (District Court of Queensland) and USQ Head of Law and Justice Professor Reid Mortensen.

The annual contest gives high-school legal studies students the chance to extend their learning by experiencing courtroom advocacy and how to develop and deliver legal argument within a court environment.

A record 33 teams participated in the 2018 USQ Secondary Schools Moot Competition including schools from Toowoomba, Warwick, Stanthorpe, Kingaroy, Brisbane, Springfield and Ipswich.
Students have received mentoring from USQ’s law lecturers and from legal professionals in the community.

Each barrister in the grand final winning team will receive a full-year scholarship to study Law at USQ, with the runners up to each receive a half-year scholarship.

four people standing
Toowoomba SHS Moot team (from left) Kody Buchan, Kaitlyn Cairns, Jemilla Strode Smith and USQ Law lecturer Kathy Reeves.