Kia Orana! Namaste! 안녕하세요!

Three USQ students named 2019 New Colombo Plan scholars
7 Dec 2018

Three exceptional University of Southern Queensland (USQ) students are among the Australian Government’s 2019 New Colombo Plan Scholars and Fellows.

Margaret Lye, Reuben Caudell and Seana McPhie have been selected to live, study, learn a language and gain work experience in the Indo-Pacific in 2019.

Minister for Foreign Affairs Marise Payne announced the recipients of the prestigious program at a ceremony at Parliament House in Canberra last week.

Reuben Caudill (Bachelor of Health) will head to Malaysia and India to study health and biomedical science, while Seana McPhie (Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Laws) will explore political science, history and international relations at the Republic of Korea’s Yonsei University.

Margaret Lye, chosen as a New Colombo Plan Fellow, will be the program’s first scholar sent to the Cook Islands.

The Bachelor of Nursing student will study primary health care, acute care and professional practice at the Cook Islands School of Nursing – Ministry of Health. She also plans to undertake a placement at Rarotonga Hospital.

Vice-Chancellor Professor Geraldine Mackenzie congratulated the successful USQ students, wishing them the best for their upcoming adventures.

“These three outstanding students have been given an opportunity to chase their dreams and explore new cultures in the context of their chosen career path,” Professor Mackenzie said.

“This will provide a significant benefit to their career development as an invaluable experience to boost professional skills such as leadership.”

The New Colombo Plan, an initiative of the Australian Government, aims to lift knowledge of the Indo Pacific in Australia by supporting undergraduates to study and undertake internships in the region.

USQ Commerce and Information Technology student Nash Mesquita-Mendes was a 2018 New Colombo Plan Scholar for Singapore, and also completed a six month internship with PriceWaterhouseCoopers through the program.

More more about study abroad and exchange opportunities via USQ.

Three people
Margaret Lye, Seana McPhie and Reuben Caudell have been selected as 2019 New Colombo Plan Scholars and Fellows.